.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}

Monday, August 21, 2017

 

Seeing the August 21 (UT) total eclipse on livestream

Solar eclipse in Cairns, 2012.

Unless you have been living under a rock you will know that on August 21 (UT) a total eclipse will sweep across the United States. The eclipse (beginning partial)  starts at 16:05 UT (2:05 22 August AEST, 1:35 ACST) on the west coast of the US, ending (end of partial eclipse) at 20:09 UT on the east coast (6:09 AEST 22 August, 5:39 ACST).

This interactive map shows you that path of the eclipse and the timings for partial eclipse and totality along the path. For those of us who cannot be there to enjoy the spectacle, there are multitudes of live streams (weather permitting of course).

Of course, the number of people attempting to watch will be enormous, so be prepared for frequent crashes, but here are some highly recommended  sites (Australians note, this take place in the early hours of the morning for us):

NASA live stream 12pm – 4pm EDT 21 August (2 am-6am AEST 22 August):
NASA TV https://www.nasa.gov/eclipselive 
Facebook live https://www.facebook.com/NASA/videos/10155497958441772/
YouTube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wwMDvPCGeE0
Ustream  http://www.ustream.tv/nasahdtv

NASA EDGE  Live from Carbondale (21 August 11:45am – 4:15pm EDT - 1:45 am- 6:15 am AEST 22 August)
NASA Edge https://www.nasa.gov/eclipselive/#NASA+EDGE
Ustream  http://www.ustream.tv/nasaedge
Facebooklive https://www.facebook.com/nasaedgefan/

Full NASA site: https://eclipse2017.nasa.gov/eclipse-live-stream

Virtual telescope project (1 p.m. EDT (1700 GMT. 1 am AEST 22 Aug)): https://www.virtualtelescope.eu/webtv/

SLOOH live cast starting at 12 pm EST (16 UT; 2 am AEST 22 August) https://live.slooh.com/shows/event-details/393

Space.com live cast (via SLOOH) https://www.space.com/19195-night-sky-planets-asteroids-webcasts.html 1:30 a.m. EDT (1530 GMT) Aug. 21 (1:30 am 22 August AEST)

The Exploratorium12 p.m. EDT (1600 GMT, 2 am AEST 22 Aug) https://www.exploratorium.edu/eclipse

Labels: , , , ,


Comments:
Thanks for these links!
 
Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link



<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?