.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}

Monday, May 09, 2016

 

Watch the Transit of Mercury on Streaming TV (tonight, May 9)

Transit of Mercury as seen from Australia in November 2006 at around 8:30am, click to enlarge. Mercury is the tiny dot roughly in the centre-top.

Tonight, May 9 2016, is a rare Transit of Mercury, where Mercury crosses the Sun's face.  We can't see it from Australia (we saw a nice one in 2006 though), but there are several sites which are live-streaming the event. Here are some courtesy of Suzy Webb. Broadcasting should start around 9:00 pm AEST (8:30 pm ACST and 7 pm AWST)

Virtual Telescope Project: http://www.virtualtelescope.eu/webtv/

Global Star Party: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EX-quH2cFyw


Slooh: http://live.slooh.com/stadium/live/transit-of-mercury-2016

Labels: ,


Comments: Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link



<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?