.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}

Saturday, June 20, 2020

 

Live streams of the Annular eclipse of Sunday, June 21, 2020

Path of Sunday's annular eclipse, image source Fred Espenak,  NASA eclipse website.

Sunday, June 21 is not only the winter Solstice, but also when an annular eclipse of the sun occurs.

In an annular eclipse, the Moon does not fully cover the Sun's dsk leaving a thin rim of sun at maximum eclipse. These so called :ring of Fire Eclipses can be very dramatic especially if caught as the sun is rising or setting.

The eclipse path travels though Asia, the Arabian peninsula and Africa. Asutalia misses out except for DArwin, which sees a tiny chip out of the edge of the Sun just on sunset.

Because of the COVID-19 epidemic, there will be fewer expeditions and few live streams of this event, whoever this Universe Today article links to a couple. 

Gianluca Masi and the Virtual Telescope Project will be doing a live webcast of the "ring of fire" eclipse from across Asia and Africa starting at 5:30 UT (15:30 AEST, 15:00 ACST).

Another is from Indian Astronomer Ajay Talwar starting at 5:00 UT (15:00 AEST. 14:30 ACST)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-DnLP7e3XX0

So set your alarms and happy watching.

Labels: , , ,


Comments: Post a comment



<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?