.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}

Friday, August 25, 2006


Pluto is not a planet anymore

The International Astronomical Union has finished its deliberation, and Pluto has been demoted to "Dwarf Planet". So Now there are 8 Planets, an as yet to be determined number of Dwarf planets (Pluto, UB313, possibly Ceres and 2005 FY9), and an as yet unnamed group of small icy things.

The blogosphere is all aflury with the news. Stuart has a good report hot from the IAU. Both the Bad Astronomer and Tom ruminate on the meaning of all this.

On Jodcast (nimbly edited by Stuart) you can listen to an edited version of the deliberations (and there are also heaps of good IAU links). The video of the full deliberations is here.

Blast, I was looking forward to 12 planets. My Very Easy Memory Jingle Seems Useful Naming .... seems a bit silly now. Maybe it should be My Very Easy Memory Jingle Seems UB-less Now.

There is more at the IAU meeting than just Pluto, pop over to Thomas Marquarts IAU Blog
for more

This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?